The Best Kale Salad You’ll Ever Know20141102-104503.jpg

Serves 1

4 large handfuls of kale, hard stems removed and discarded
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
1 teaspoon tahini
1 teaspoon miso paste
Juice of 1 lime
1 ripe avocado, cubed
125g cooked beluga lentils, or similar type
Bunch of fresh, flat leaf parsley, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon pumpkin seeds

Place the kale leaves in a bowl and add the olive oil, rice vinegar, tahini, miso and lime juice and massage with your hands for a few minutes. The leaves will start to soften as the dressing breaks down the cell wall of the kale.

Stir in the avocado, lentils and parsley and season to taste.

Serve topped with pumpkin seeds.

This salad can be eaten right away, but it also makes for a perfect take to work lunch as the kale leaves are resistant to becoming overly soggy by the time you’re ready to chow down.

Recipe adapted from Deliciously Ella’s Marinated Kale Salad recipe

Thyme & Honey

20141102-104510.jpg

It was quite the shock when my meat-loving, pizza fiend of a boyfriend declared that he wanted to ‘go vegan’ 5 out of 7 days of the week. I think I squealed a little at the prospect of not having to eat meat as much as we have been doing since we began cohabiting, but inside I could only feel pangs of fear as what he said really sunk in. I realised that his new found vegan-ish-ism would mean two things:

1) all those wonderful things I enjoy daily as part of my mainly-vegetarian diet (honey, eggs, cheese) would be no more
2) this vegan 5/2 thing he had going on in his head was to be conjured up and cooked by yours truly

Well, I do love a challenge.

Over the past week I have embarked on a totally new dining experience, one where I have had to seriously…

View original post 320 more words

